MotoGP FP3: Marquez on top in close session

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Marc Marquez took the top spot in FP3, in a session that saw the top 13 covered by less than a second.

The morning began with Valentino Rossi suffering yet another mechanical issue, as he pulled up at the side of the track frustrated. Luckily for The Doctor, he managed to get back out on track on his second bike and ended the session in 6th. 

A good session from Jonas Folger, who is eager to impress at his home round. The German went top in the early stages and stayed in the top 10 for the entirety of the session. He was pipped from the top spot only by Marquez and Maverick Viñales and ended up in 3rd, sending him straight into Q2.

A crash for Dani Pedrosa scuppered his session. Although he managed to re-join, he ended the session in 9th, hanging onto his place in Q2 by the skin of his teeth.

Johann Zarco is one of the main names who will have to fight his way through Q1. A crash in the closing ten minutes of the session meant he was unable to go back out, and will have to fight alongside the likes of Danilo Petrucci and Andrea Iannone for a place on the front three rows.

Surprisingly, Tito Rabat had secured himself a place in Q1 and it looked as if no other rider would push him out of the top 10. But enter Alvaro Bautista who has been consistent throughout the sessions so far, who shoved Rabat down to 11th.

  1. Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda Team - 1:20.745
  2. Maverick Viñales, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP + 0.170
  3. Jonas Folger, Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 0.453
  4. Aleix Espargaro, Aprilia Racing Team Gresini + 0.464
  5. Cal Crutchlow, LCR Honda + 0.530
  6. Valentino Rossi, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP + 0.566
  7. Jorge Lorenzo, Ducati Team + 0.628
  8. Andrea Dovizioso, Ducati Team + 0.677
  9. Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda Team + 0.735
  10. Alvaro Bautista, Pull&Bear Aspar Team +0.752


Going through Q2:

  1. Tito Rabat, EG 0,0 Marc VDS - 1:21.608
  2. Danilo Petrucci, OCTO Pramac Racing + 0.878
  3. Hector Barbera, Reale Avintia Racing + 0.913
  4. Jack Miller, EG 0,0 Marc VDS + 1.090
  5. Scott Redding, OCTO Pramac Racing + 1.152
  6. Alex Rins, Team Suzuki Ecstar + 1.180
  7. Johann Zarco, Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 1.189
  8. Pol Espargaro, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing + 1.200
  9. Andrea Iannone, Team Suzuki Ecstar + 1.273
  10. Loris Baz, Reale Avintia Racing + 1.344
  11. Bradley Smith, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing + 1.605
  12. Mika Kallio, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing + 1.635
  13. Sam Lowes, Aprilia Racing Team Gresini + 1.824
  14. Karel Abraham, Pull&Bear Aspar Team + 1.979