Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Buemi flies to ninth Formula E Pole in Marrakesh

Written by  Jan 13, 2018

Clinching the Pole Position - his ninth in his FIA Formula E career - was last year's race winner and Renault e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi with a time of 1:20.355.

After a leaving Hong Kong with just one point, this could be the comeback the Swiss driver has been hoping for as he starts the race at Circuit Moulay El Hassan, at the front of the grid this afternoon.

Starting behind Buemi in second will be DS Virgin Racing's Sam Bird, who set a lap time of 1:20.615 in the Super Pole shoot-out. Behind Bird is last year's Pole sitter, Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing), followed by a surprise appearance from Dragon's Jose Maria Lopez ahead of his first start in Season Four of the FIA Formula E Championship. Starting in fifth place will be reigning champion Lucas di Grassi.

With Rosenqvist at the top, teammate Nick Heidfeld scuppered his chances of getting into Super Pole as he drifted sideways, ending up in the barrier awaiting recovery. "It was my mistake and I'm sorry for the team - it shouldn't have happened, said Heidfeld. "I just started braking too late."

Damage was also sustained for MS&AD Andretti's Antonio Felix da Costa, who slammed into the tyre wall after a failing to make a turn. Despite the damage, da Costa starts one up on Venturi Formula E Team's Edoardo Mortara who again suffered from reliability issues.

See below for the full results from Qualifying and Super Pole.

1 - Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams 
2 - Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing 
3 - Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing 
4 - Jose Maria Lopez, Dragon 
5 - Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT Shaeffler 
6 - Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing 
7 - Nelson Piquet Jn, Panasonic Jaguar Racing 
8 - Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT Shaeffler 
9 - Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing 
10 - Oliver Turvey, NIO Formula E Team 
11 - Luca Filippi, NIO Formula E Team 
12 - Tom Blomqvist, MS&AD Andretti Formula E 
13 - Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH
14 - Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E Team
15 - Nico Prost, Renault e.dams 
16 - Jerome D'Ambrosio, Dragon 
17 - Andre Lotterer, TECHEETAH
18 - Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing 
19 - Antonio Felix da Costa, MS&AD Andretti Formula E 
20 - Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Formula E Team

Related News

Toro Rosso target Albon named on Formula

WEC: Lopez takes top spot as wet track c

Hamilton praises Formula E project but r

Massa tips Alonso for Formula E move as

Marko in talks with Nissan to secure Alb

Wehrlein joins Mahindra in Formula E for

  1. Latest News
  2. Featured