Zandvoort WTCR: Second win of the weekend for Thed Björk

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Thed Björk won the third race of WTCR at Zandvoort, claiming his second victory of the weekend and becoming the first driver to score three victories in the current season.

It was a processional race that offered a few thrilling moments: a contact at the start between Björk and his fellow Lynk&Co driver Yann Ehrlacher and some battles amongst the mid fielders.

At the start, Ehrlacher from the pole position swerved to the rights, nearly pushing Björk against the pit wall. The two cars made contact and Björk managed to squeeze through and took the lead. Behind them, Augusto Farfus started better than Norbert Michelisz and settled in third position.

Yvan Muller, Mikel Azcona, Nicky Catsburg followed in the places between fifth and seventh, but on lap 2, Johan Kristoffersson overtook Catsburg for seventh. The Dutchman dropped to tenth in the following lap, as he was also passed by Esteban Guerrieri and Gabriele Tarquini. Still on lap 3, Ehrlacher moved into the lead, passing Björk at the Tarzaan bend.

For the next eight laps, nothing happened, then on lap 11, Björk retook the lead from Ehrlacher and Benjamin Leuchter retired from 12th.

In the final part of the race there were a couple of good fights: between Aurélien Panis, Mehdi Bennani and Néstor Girolami for 12th, and between Rob Huff and Nicky Catsburg for 10th.

The only change in the top positions came when Michelisz passed Farfus for third.

Guerrieri has retained the leadership in the standings, but Björk climbed to second having reduced his gap from the Argentine to nine points only.

Girolami dropped to third, 15 points behind the Swede. Michelisz and Azcona are currently fourth and fifth with gaps of 31 and 41 points respectively.

The WTCR will return into action at the Nürburgring, on June 21 and 22.

Race 3

  1. Thed Björk (Cyan Racing, Lynk&Co 03), 15 laps
  2. Yann Ehrlacher (Cyan Performance, Lynk&Co), 0.830
  3. Augusto Farfus (BRC Racing, Hyundai i30 N), 2.377
  4. Norbert Michelisz (BRC Squadra Corse, Hyundai i30 N), 2.995
  5. Yvan Muller (Cyan Racing, Lynk&Co 03), 3.658

Championship points

  1. Guerrieri 161 pts
  2. Björk 150
  3. Girolami 135