Rowland on Pole as Vergne, Da Costa, Buemi and Di Grassi fail to set a lap

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Oliver Rowland has claimed his first pole position of the season after a shocking qualifying session in Berlin. 

The biggest shock came in group 1 provided a surprise as Antonio Felix Da Costa, Sebastien Buemi, Jean-Eric Vergne and Lucas Di Grassi failed to set a lap time after they left the pits too late, which saw the four drivers fight out on for track position. Di Grassi also forced Da Costa into the wall at the Turn 15 hairpin. The four Formula E champions will have to apply to the stewards to be able to start the race later today. 

That opened the door to have a mixed-up grid, and that is what we got, as Rene Rast, Alex Lynn, Robin Frijns, Rowland, Neel Jani and on his Formula E debut in the Gen 2 Tom Blomqvist made into Superpole. 

Rowland set a 1.15.955 to take pole position just ahead of Frijns who set a 1.16.004. Jani recorded his best Formula E qualifying session as he qualified third fastest. It is the first time that Jani has out-qualified his teammate Andre Lotterer this season, as well as his first Superpole appearance in Formula E. 

Rast qualified in fourth place for Audi. The German driver qualified fastest in group qualifying and picked up a point in doing so. Lynn will start in fifth with Blomqvist in sixth. 

Andre Lotterer was the first driver to miss out on Superpole and he will start in seventh place for Porsche. Felipe Massa qualified in eighth place in the Venturi with Sergio Sette Camara having a good qualifying for Dragon to start in ninth. 

Edoardo Mortara qualified tenth in the second Venturi in front of the second Dragon car of Nico Muller. Oliver Turvey will start 12th in the NIO. Maximilian Gunther will start in 13th for BMW. Mitch Evans qualified in 14th for Jaguar ahead of the second BMW car of Alexander Sims. 

Sam Bird will start from 16th with Jerome D'Ambrosio in the Mahindra starting in 17th. The Mercedes had a shocking qualifying as Stoffel Vandoorne qualified 18th with nyck De Vries in 19th. 

Daniel Abt will start 20th ahead of Dac Costa, Vergne, Di Grassi and Buemi. Their positions will be determined by when they ask permission from the stewards to take part in the race after failing to qualify for the event.