Hyundai reveals line-up change for Rally Sweden

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Hyundai Motorsport has announced a change to its initial driver line-up for the second round of the 2020 World Rally Championship (WRC), Rally Sweden, which is due to take place February 13-16.

The team will field three crews in the Swedish event: Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul, Ott Tänak/Martin Järveoja and Craig Breen/Paul Nagle. Breen will replace the previously announced Sébastien Loeb and will drive the #42 Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC.  

Team Principal Andrea Adamo: “We have taken the decision to add Craig Breen to our line-up for Rally Sweden alongside Thierry and Ott in a bid to field the most competitive package possible for the event with the best available options for road position."

"We opted to bring in Craig based on his performance in Sweden in 2018 when he finished in second place, and the potential he showed in our i20 Coupe WRC last season."

The team has been forced to postpone its planned pre-event test in Sweden, due to take place this week, because of a lack of snow and ice currently in the region. A

revised test is being considered for February 5-7 in the area close to the rally with all three crews.