Delétraz continues hot form on Day 2 of testing

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Louis Delétraz led post-season testing in Abu Dhabi for the second day in a row, as the experienced Swiss racer continues to revel in Charouz machinery.
The in-form 22-year-old finished ahead of PREMA Racing’s Robert Shwartzman and Carlin’s Nikita Mazepin.
There were just two changes to the field for the second day of testing, as Ralph Boschung took a turn in the MP Motorsport and Roy Nissany tried out the Trident.
With 20 minutes gone, it was a similar story to the morning of testing on Day 1, as Mick Schumacher put in a series of fast laps to top the table, setting the benchmark at 1:51.308. Delétraz was swiftly back on top though, as he smashed the fastest time from the first day to leap above the German.
Callum Ilott followed suit in the UNI-Virtuosi, as he matched Delétraz’ time of 1:50.461 exactly, to prop him up in first. Marcus Armstrong has had no trouble making the leap from Formula 3 so far, as the ART Grand Prix ace topped the times for the second time in as many days, leaping above Delétraz and Ilott.
Mazepin was running fourth, and also faster than on Day 1, when his Carlin machine stopped on track and brought out a fleeting red flag. The session got underway once more with 50 minutes to go, but no one would better Armstrong before lunch. Delétraz, Ilott, Mazepin and Guanyu Zhou completed the top five. Boschung was sixth on his return to F2, ahead of Shwartzman, Daniel Ticktum, Felipe Drugovich and Christian Lundgaard.
The afternoon stint was much more focused on long-runs, as the drivers divided 682 laps between them. Giuliano Alesi led for the first hour in his new BWT HWA RACELAB machine, before Drugovich and Boschung both took turns with the MP Motorsport.
Shwartzman enjoyed his first spell at the top of the leaderboard when he broke the 1m 52s barrier with two and a half hours of the afternoon to go. The F3 Champ led for all but five minutes of the remaining time, as Delétraz stole the show for the second day in a row.
Leaving it late once again, the Charouz racer beat Shwartzman’s time by 0.052s to run home first. That left the Russian to settle for second, ahead of Mazepin, Piquet and Boschung. Drugovich, Yuki Tsunoda, Artem Markelov, Alesi and Marino Sato completed the top 10.
The last day of testing begins tomorrow at 9am (local time), when Delétraz will attempt to make it a hat-trick and top all three days.
2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship – Post-season tests, Day 2, morning session
Pos. Driver Team Laptime Laps
1 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 01:50.4 40
2 Louis Delétraz Charouz Racing System 01:50.5 39
3 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi 01:50.5 25
4 Nikita Mazepin Carlin 01:50.5 22
5 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 01:50.6 42
6 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 01:50.6 32
7 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Racing 01:50.8 31
8 Dan Ticktum DAMS 01:50.8 27
9 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 01:50.8 37
10 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 01:50.9 36
11 Mick Schumacher PREMA Racing 01:50.9 12
12 Niko Kari Campos Racing 01:51.0 30
13 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 01:51.2 36
14 Artem Markelov BWT HWA RACELAB 01:51.2 23
15 Giuliano Alesi BWT HWA RACELAB 01:51.3 27
16 Sean Gelael DAMS 01:51.3 24
17 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 01:51.5 45
18 Roy Nissany Trident 01:52.0 36
19 Marino Sato Trident 01:52.0 38
20 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 01:52.3 35
2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship – Post-season tests, Day 2, afternoon session
Pos. Driver Team Laptime Laps
1 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 01:50.1 44
2 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Racing 01:50.2 29
3 Nikita Mazepin Carlin 01:50.6 27
4 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 01:50.8 47
5 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 01:50.9 24
6 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 01:51.1 33
7 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 01:51.2 29
8 Artem Markelov BWT HWA RACELAB 01:51.5 33
9 Giuliano Alesi BWT HWA RACELAB 01:51.7 44
10 Marino Sato Trident 01:51.9 30
11 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 01:52.0 16
12 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 01:52.2 43
13 Sean Gelael DAMS 01:55.9 49
14 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 01:56.0 37
15 Dan Ticktum DAMS 01:56.1 43
16 Roy Nissany Trident 01:56.1 43
17 Callum Ilott UNI-Virtuosi 01:56.3 37
18 Niko Kari Campos Racing 01:56.3 32
19 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 01:56.6 42
20 Mick Schumacher PREMA Racing - -