Formula E granted world championship status from 2020/21

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Formula E will be granted world championship status from the start of the 2020/21 season following a vote from the Federation International de l’Automobile (FIA).

From next season the series will be known as the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, with the move being finalised on Tuesday by FIA president Jean Todt and Formula E founder and chairman Alejandro Agag.

Formula E just entered its sixth season after it began in 2014, with drivers able to compete for the world drivers championship from next year.

Following the announcement, Todt said: “The creation and development of Formula E has been a great adventure.

“I am proud that today we confirm its FIA world championship status.

“Since its first race in Beijing in 2014 and with every E-Prix thereafter, Formula E has proven that the concept of cutting-edge electric racing works.

“I wholeheartedly welcome Formula E as the latest FIA world championship.”

Agag added: “It was always our ambition to one day become an FIA world championship.

“Everything we have done and delivered to this point has been working towards this particular moment in time.

“Now we can say we have done it.

“But it is only the beginning of a new chapter under the banner of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.”

The opening weekend of season six saw the introduction of two new manufacturers, Porsche and Mercedes, with their introduction hoping to build on the success the series saw last season.