Mercedes-EQ's Nyck de Vries wins inaugural Valencia E-Prix

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Mercedes-EQ's Nyck de Vries took the chequered flag first in an action-packed race at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo, leading home Nico Müller (DRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT) and his Mercedes-EQ team-mate Stoffel Vandoorne.

De Vries, who started the rain-soaked race from second on the grid, followed António Félix da Costa (DS TECHEETAH) for the majority of proceedings, before energy management once again became pivotal in the final minutes, leaving multiple cars unable to finish the race.

Müller started the race from 22nd and made two trips into the gravel while on his way to securing DRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT’s first Formula E podium since Season 4 in Zurich.

After having his super pole time taken away after a tyre infringement, Vandoorne set about a phenomenal climb back up the field, taking third place and rounding out the podium places.

Nick Cassidy (Envision Virgin Racing), René Rast (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler), Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing), Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler), Jake Dennis (BMW i Andretti Motorsport) and Jean-Éric Vergne (DS TECHEETAH) completed the nine classified finishers.

Racing action returns tomorrow, April 25 for Round 6 of the 2020/21 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship - the DHL Valencia E-Prix.