Lucas di Grassi heads home audi one-two in Formula E's Puebla e-Prix round 8

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Lucas di Grassi took the race win in the Puebla E-Prix Round 8, leading home a one-two for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, ahead of teammate Rene Rast - both Audi drivers having driven coolly through the upper order to the front of the pack.
It had looked like a maiden victory was on the cards for TAG Heuer Porsche, with Pole Position sitter Pascal Wehrlein leading the contest from the off, only for the Porsches to be disqualified for failing to declare their tyres which left di Grassi and Rast one and two, with ROKiT Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortara rounding out the podium.
The result ensured Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns retained top spot in the Drivers’ World Championship but reigning champion Antonio Felix da Costa moved within two points after a sixth-place finish while just four points separate the top five.
Championship front-runner Frijns came into contact with compatriot Nyck de Vries mid-way through the contest (Mercedes-EQ), which ensured neither would end the day with points - Frijns being slapped with a 10-second penalty.
Racing action returns tomorrow, June 20 the 2021 CBMM Niobium Puebla E-Prix Round 9 of the 2020/21 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship.