Magnus and Azcona inherit pole positions for Race 3 and Race 2

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Jean-Karl Vernay was stripped of his pole position in WTCR’s Race 3 at Motorland Aragon.

The French driver had his lap time disallowed for a track limit infringement, which promoted Gilles Magnus to start from the pole with Thed Björk alongside him, while Vernay will be dropped to P4, between Santiago Urrutia and Nathanaël Berthon.

This was only one of the many Stewards’ decisions that reshuffled the Qualifying results, especially following a review of the video evidences that resulted in reinstatements of a number of lap times that had been previously disallowed for track limit infringements.

Amongst them Yann Ehrlacher’s in Q1 that meant he qualified 13th instead of 18th and those of Norbert Michelisz, Mikel Azcona and Luca Engstler in Q2.

This promoted Michelisz from tenth to fourth, meaning that he lost the pole position on the reversed grid for Race 2 that was inherited by Azcona, while Engstler will start from P2.

However, both Berthon and Ehrlacher will start Race 1 from the back of the grid due to engine changes, while Néstor Girolami will be dropped from 12th to 17th on the same grid because of a penalty he was given for an incident with Azcona at the Hungaroring.